I think I should have majored in Graphic Design or something in undergrad. I’ve developed a big interest in it lately, with all the web design and such I’ve had to do. It intrigues me, and I want to educate myself more about it, but I just don’t have the time outside of school and work. If I could go back in time and redo undergrad, I would major in Graphic Design. It’s not that I don’t cherish my Religious Studies degree; I really do. My time as a religion major has been invaluable to me, the knowledge I gained from all my classes and professors. It’s just that I wish I had known about graphic design then–six years ago when I started college. Right now, I’m in library school, and I keep wondering, why am I doing this? Why am I putting myself through this, if I’m not even going to be able to get a job when I graduate? What’s the point? Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy some of my classes (if I’m being truly honest); I certainly don’t enjoy all of them. Some of the ones I haven’t enjoyed, though, are the ones in which I’ve had assignments that piqued my interest in graphic design, particularly web design. It’s just that I lose sight of why I wanted to be a librarian in the first place. I get so bogged down in assignments and everything that most days I don’t remember why I’m putting myself through this. I know that if I want to be a librarian, this degree is what is required. But honestly…….sometimes I just want to quit it all and just take pictures and sit around on the computer editing photos in Photoshop, or designing web pages in Dreamweaver, and learning about all the neat and handy technological tools there are out there. I think if I did though, I’d be a 400-pound slob because I couldn’t leave my computer long enough to go for a walk.

I just don’t know anymore……..

