Time has gone by so quickly it seems. I can’t believe it’s been five months since I graduated with my MLIS! And here I am, about to start a new job. A couple of months ago, I applied for an Assistant Library Director position at the Jackson County Public Library in Marianna, Florida. In July, I had a phone interview with the director there and some other people in the county. I felt like it went pretty well, but there were times when I doubted myself, thought maybe I had screwed it up, or didn’t have all the knowledge or experience I needed. Sometime after the phone interview, I got a letter that said they had decided to repost the position, but my application was on file, so I didn’t need to reapply. Several weeks went by, so I just assumed they had hired someone else. But a couple of weeks ago, I got an email from the director asking if I was still interested in the position. Of course, I said yes. They called me in for a personal interview on September 30. I met with Deborah (the director), two ladies that work for the county, and another lady that works in the library. It was a really good interview! Pam, one of the ladies that works for the county, told me I was her first choice from the beginning. Deborah told me that as well. Before we left Marianna, Mom, Dad, and I looked around for apartments or houses to rent and went by the library to check it out. Deborah told me then that she had already put in a request to hire me, and that it could take a few weeks to get everything approved by the County Commission and all. So, I certainly didn’t expect to get an email the following week asking me to come down to be fingerprinted and do a drug screening. We went down this past Thursday (Oct. 9) to do that. When I went in to be fingerprinted at the sheriff’s office, Dad asked the deputy, Lt. Hinson, if he knew of any houses or apartments for rent. He said he thought so, and would make a call while I was there. He called a friend of his, Nola, who is just moving out of an upstairs apartment on Green Street- the same street as the library! I got to talk to Nola about the place and the community. She gave me the number of the landlord, and we called and scheduled a viewing. We me Donna, the landlord, at 12 to see the apartment, and it was perfect! Donna’s father-in-law, David, owns the house and lives downstairs. He is 82 and walks 3 miles every day. They call him the mayor of Green Street. The apartment is two bedroom, one bath and has a very nice living room area, laundry room, and kitchen. We paid the deposit that day. It is certainly an answered prayer. I needed something close to the library so I can walk to work. Donna said it was a blessing for them too, because they wanted someone who would take care of it and be a good tenant. When we got there, Nola was getting some more of her things out, so I got to meet her. She has bought a house right across the street, and she said if I ever need anything to let her know. She said she would be happy to drive me anywhere I need to go.

On Thursday, when I went by the HR office to turn in my fingerprint paperwork, Elena, the HR person, told me she could be ready to hire as soon as the next day. I told her I needed time to get everything settled, so we decided on November 3 for a start date. I will move all my stuff into the apartment on Oct. 25, a Saturday, then work in Greenville the next Monday and Tuesday for Harry Potter Day, and come back to Marianna to stay on Wednesday the 29th. I can’t believe how quickly things are moving! We have a lot to do, lots of stuff to get, but I am so excited about this opportunity!

